Featured Book

book cover for a perfect storm of injustice

A Perfect Storm of Injustice

Author: Jack Saarela

Buy on Amazon

Genre: Crime

It could happen to you.

Charles Wilkerson, a very ordinary man, is unexpectedly launched by the legal system on a harrowing journey to hell and back in Jack Saarela’s fourth novel about the everyday injustice in America’s justice system. Charles thinks he has the perfect life. He has a good job as a manager at a local grocery store, a loving wife, and a three-year-old little boy. Yes, sometimes the family gets strange looks from the neighbors in their quiet suburb—Charles is black and his wife, Dana, is white. And even in the 1990s, that is often frowned on in Palm Beach County, Florida. Charles’ life changes forever when he is called home in the middle of the day by the Palm Beach, Florida County sheriff and informed Charles that his wife has been murdered. Charles is the primary and sole suspect in the brutal beating and murder, even though he had no prior criminal record. While Charles proclaims his innocence, he is was arrested and tried for the murder and sentenced to Florida’s death row. Charles spends the next quarter-century of his life in prison before a series of startling events lead to his exoneration. A Perfect Storm of Injustice is based on the real-life experiences of several individuals who were victims of a wrongful murder conviction. Since 1973, at least 172 such individuals have been wrongfully imprisoned for murders they didn’t commit. That’s up to 10% of the total number of persons sentenced to prison. Saarela, the author of Love Out of Reach, Accidental Saviors, and Beginning Again at Zero, has once again written a suspenseful, thoughtful and eye-opening true-to-life novel in the tradition of John Grisham’s An Innocent Man and Scott Turow’s Reversible Errors.

Paperback price: $9.99
Ebook: 3.99

Learn More

More Books

four letter words by Haley Beth Costisick-Unwin

Four Letter Words: Act 1

Author: Haley Beth Costisick-Unwin

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
secrets of saint joanna book cover

The Secrets of Saint Joanna

Author: Steven Knapp

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
fallout book cover

Fallout

Author: doc mike

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
love out of reach book cover

Love Out of Reach

Author: Jack Saarela

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
captive truth book cover

Captive Truth

Author: Karen Stary

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
the bones of saint pierre book cover

The Bones of Saint Pierre

Author: Steven Knapp

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
initiate front cover

Initiate – A Celtic Prophecy Novella

Author: Melissa MacFie

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
amergins covenant book cover

Amergin’s Covenant: Book Four of The Celtic Prophecy

Author: Melissa Macfie

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
accidental saviors book cover

Accidental Saviors

Author: Jack Saarela

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
cradle of stone book cover

Cradle of Stone

Author: Jeff Pratt

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
terrorists and global manipulation

Terrorists and Global Manipulation

Author: doc mike

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
falling from the ground book cover

Falling from the Ground

Author: Tonio Favetta

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
oracle's curse cover

Oracle’s Curse: Book Three of The Celtic Prophecy

Author: Melissa Macfie

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
reliquarys choice cover

Reliquary’s Choice: Book Two of The Celtic Prophecy

Author: Melissa Macfie

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
fate's hand book cover

Fate’s Hand:Book One of The Celtic Prophecy

Author: Melissa Macfie

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
Rise of the Red Harbinger-book cover

Rise of the Red Harbinger

Author: Khalid Uddin

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
Patient Wolf book cover

The Patient Wolf

Author: Karen Hodges Miller

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
attack of the zuzax front cover

Attack of the Zuzax

Author: Robert Culkin

Learn More & Get Purchase Details
divine hotel book cover

Divine Hotel

Author: Nicole Loughan

Learn More & Get Purchase Details

About Can’t Put It Down Books

Open Door Publications has been publishing quality non-fiction books for over 10 years. Now we want to introduce that same quality and service in books for readers of fiction with books that will tantalize, tingle, and tease you—in other words books that you just can’t put down.